Papua New Guinea Council of Churches

In 1991 the Melanesian Council of Churches changed its name to Papua New Guinea Council of Churches (PNGCC). The PNGCC is an ecumenical body which includes representatives of seven major churches operating in PNG Anglican Church, Baptist Union, Catholic Church, Evangelical Lutheran, Gutnius Lutheran, Salvation Army and the United Church. The major groups outside the Council are the Evangelical Alliance and the Seventh-Day Adventists. In 1991 the council elected its first woman chairperson, Rose Muingnepe. The PNGCC is affiliated to the World Council of Churches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.