Papua and New Guinea Act

After the passage of the Papua-New Guinea Provisional Administration Act by the Australian parliament in July 1945, the Territory of Papua and the Mandated Territory of New Guinea were administered as one territory known as Papua and New Guinea. This Act formalized the arrangement which had operated during World War II when those parts of Papua and New Guinea not under military occupation by the Japanese were administered by the Australian New Guinea Administrative Unit (ANGAU). The Provisional Act was replaced by the Papua and New Guinea Act of July 1949.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.