The National Executive Council

The National Executive Council (NEC) is the body which, in most countries with a “Westminster” system of government, is known as the cabinet and it is often referred to as the cabinet in PNG. The NEC consists of the Prime Minister, elected by a simple majority of members of parliament, and all Ministers. The Constitution allows for 6 to 27 Ministers (or not more than a quarter of the number of members of parliament) who are each responsible for one or more government departments and statutory bodies. Ministers are appointed and can be dismissed by the Head of State on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. In 1993 Prime Minister Wingti established a Policy Coordination and Monitoring Committee (PCMC) including the heads of the Departments of Prime Minister, Finance and Planning and Personnel Management to coordinate NEC business and consider the financial implications of Ministers’ recommendations to the NEC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.