District Commissioners and Resident Magistrates in Papua New Guinea

The Mandated Territory of New Guinea was split into a number of districts for administrative purposes. A District Commissioner was at the head of administration in each district. In Papua, the equivalent administrative unit was called a Division, and the equivalent of the District Commissioner was called the Resident Magistrate. After 1950, District and District Commissioner were the terms used throughout the Territory of Papua and New Guinea.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.